The Liberian Senate

Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
10 Oct 2023
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
09 Oct 2029
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Partial renewal


About the election

The Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) led by President George Weah became the largest force in both chambers of parliament. It won 25 seats in the 73-member House of Representatives and 6 of the 15 seats at stake in the 30-member Senate. The Unity Party (UP) led by former Vice President Joseph Boakai came second, taking 11 seats in the House and one seat in the Senate. No candidates won an outright majority in the first round of the presidential elections held in parallel with the parliamentary polls. On 14 November, Mr. Boakai narrowly defeated Mr. Weah, who conceded defeat.

On 15 January 2024, the newly elected legislature held its first session. The House of Representatives elected Mr. Jonathan Fonati Koffa (CDC) as its new Speaker, while the Senate elected Ms. Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence (UP) as its new President pro tempore. On 22 January, Mr. Boakai was sworn in as the new President along with his deputy, Mr. Jeremiah Koung. Mr. Koung is also the new Senate President by virtue of holding the vice-presidency.

The 2023 elections were held against the backdrop of the war in Ukraine and high inflation. The key electoral issues included the economy, improvement to infrastructure, and investment in agriculture and tourism.

Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) 6
Unity Party (UP) 1
Movement for Democracy and Reconstruction (MDR) 1
Liberia Restoration Party (LRP) 1
Independents 6
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Note on the first session of the new parliament:

The first session is held on the second working Monday of January following the elections.

Note on the expected date of next elections:

The senators elected in 2020 serve a 9-year term. The next elections will thus be held on 9 October 2029 (the second Tuesday of October).

Note on the first Speaker of the new legislature:

- President of the Senate (Vice President of the Republic): Mr. Jeremiah Koung

- President pro tempore: Ms. Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence


Legislature (14.11.2023)

BBC Monitoring


New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
15 Jan 2024

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Jeremiah Koung (Male)
Date of birth: 1978
Political party
Unity Party (UP)
Date of election
22 Jan 2024
Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence (Female)
Political party
Unity Party (UP)
Date of election
15 Jan 2024

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06