House of Representatives

Political system
Parliamentary system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
09 May 2018
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
06 Apr 2018
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election
Total number of candidates
Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates

Voter turnout

Registered voters


About the election

The Pakatan Harapan (Alliance of Hope) opposition coalition (see note), led by the former long-serving Prime Minister Mohamad Mahathir, won the majority in the 222-member House of Representatives, thereby ousting Prime Minister Najib Razak's National Front (BN) coalition which had governed the country since Malaysia's independence from Britain in 1957.

On 10 May, Mr. Mahathir, 92, was sworn in as Prime Minister, becoming the world’s eldest elected head of government. He stated that King has agreed to grant a full pardon to the opposition leader and former Deputy Prime Minister Ibrahim Anwar (see note 2), On 21 May, Mr. Mahathir formed a new Cabinet. Ms. Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (Mr. Anwar's wife and President of the People's Justice Party, PKR), became the first woman Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Prior to the 2018 elections, the BN faced amid public anger over the cost of living and a corruption scandal involving a state-owned investment fund that emerged in 2015. In January 2018, Mr. Mahathir announced that he would contest the 2018 elections as the Pakatan Harapan's premier candidate, with the stated goal of ousting his former protégé, Prime Minister Najib. During the election campaign, the BN promised more public holidays, no toll charges during Eid and tax exemptions for Malaysians under 26 years old. The Pakatan Harapan promised to abolish the consumption tax (known as GST) and to fight corruption.

Note 1:

The Pakatan Harapan (Alliance of Hope) was formed in 2015 by three opposition parties: the People's Justice Party (PKR), the Democratic Action Party (DAP) and Parti Amanah Negara (PAN, a splinter party of the Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS). The PKR, the DAP and the PAS had formed Pakatan Rakyat (People's Alliance, led by Mr. Anwar) for the 2013 elections but the alliance subsequently collapsed.

Note 2:

For five years in the 1990s Mr. Anwar was the country's deputy prime minister, before falling from favour and finding himself at the centre of a series of court cases involving allegations of corruption and sodomy. In 2008 he was again charged with sodomy. After a lengthy court battle, he was cleared in 2012. In 2014 the court battles were resumed. Anwar Ibrahim's previous acquittal was overturned and a five-year jail term handed down. Prior to the 2018 elections, Mr. Mahathir promised to secure a royal pardon for Mr. Anwar and announced that he would hand over the prime ministerial post to Mr. Anwar within two years.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Number of parties in government
Names of parties in government
People's Justice Party (PKR), the Democratic Action Party (DAP), Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) and Parti Amanah Negara (PAN)

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
People's Justice Party (PKR) 104
National Front (BN) 79
Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS) 18
Democratic Action Party (DAP) 9
Sabah Heritage Party (WARISAN) 8
Independents (BEBES) 3
Homeland Solidarity Party (SOLIDARITI) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected

Notes: The distribution of seats according to sex includes the male Speaker who is not one of the 222 directly elected members

Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

Parliament (21.05.2018, 17.07.2018)

Election Commission of Malaysia

BBC Monitoring


Al Jazeera

The Star

Channel Newsasia

The Straits Times

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
16 Jul 2018

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof (Male)
Date of birth: 1949
Date of election
16 Jul 2018

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06