National Assembly

Political system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
21 Feb 2016 to 22 Feb 2016
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election
Total number of candidates
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

President Mahamadou Issoufou's Niger Party for Democracy and Socialism (PNDS Tarayya) and its allies (see note 1) won a total of 108 seats, securing a majority in the enlarged 171-member National Assembly (see note 2). The Niger Democratic Movement for an African Federation (MODEN/FA-Lumana Africa), led from prison by the former Speaker of the National Assembly, Mr. Hama Amadou, came a distant second (see note 3). Delays at polling stations caused voting to be extended by an extra day. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on economic and social development, promotion of democracy and the rule of law.

In the presidential elections, held in parallel with the parliamentary polls, the election commission announced that President Issoufou (PNDS) came first in the first round of voting, followed by former Speaker Amadou. Opposition parties claimed irregularities and massive fraud. Previously, 23 opposition parties had formed the Coalition for the Alternative 2016 (COPA 2016, see note 4) and agreed to back whichever opposition candidate made it to the second round, scheduled for 20 March.

On 7 March, the Constitutional Court validated the preliminary results of the first round. The following day, the COPA 2016 announced its withdrawal from the second round of presidential elections, accusing the Constitutional Court of a lack of impartiality and independence. It demanded that parliamentarians representing parties in the COPA 2016 cease all activities in the National Assembly.

On 20 March, President Issoufou was re-elected with 92 percent of the vote in the run-off elections.

Note 1:

The PNDS Tarayya led the Movement for the Renaissance of Niger (MRN), a 22-party pro-presidential alliance. The MRN includes the Patriotic Movement for the Republic (MPR-Jamhuriya), formed by former MNSD Secretary General Albadé Abouba in October 2015.

Note 2:

In accordance with the organic law gazetted in November 2015 (Loi organique n°2014-71), the statutory number of members of the National Assembly has increased from 113 to 171. In October 2014 a modification to the 2000 electoral law (loi n° 2000-008) raised the gender quota, requiring the percentage of candidates-elect of each sex be more than 15%, as opposed to 10% previously.

Note 3:

Mr. Amadou was arrested in November 2015 on his return from exile in France over his alleged role in a baby-trafficking scandal, an allegation he strongly denies and insists is politically motivated.

Note 4:

The COPA 2016 includes the MODEN/FA-Lumana Africa and the National Movement for the Development of Society (MNSD) - Nassara of former Prime Minister Seyni Omar.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Niger Party for Democracy and Socialism (PNDS Tarayya) 75
Niger Democratic Movement for an African Federation (MODEN/FA-Lumana Africa) 25
National Movement for the Development Society (MNSD) - Nassara 20
Patriotic Movement for the Republic (MPR-JAMHURIYA) 13
MNRD Hankuri - PSDN Alheri grouping 6
Niger Patriotic Movement (MPN- KISHIN KASSA) 5
National Alliance for Democracy and Progress (ANDP) - Zaman Lahiya 4
Social Democratic Rally (RSD Gaskiya) 4
Democratic Social Convention (CDS) Rahama 3
Congress for the Republic (CPR Inganci) 3
Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) JAMAA 3
Alliance of Movements for the Emergence of Niger (AMEN-AMIN) 3
Alliance for Democratic Renewal (ARD Mutunci-Adalci) 2
Union for Democracy and the Republic (UDR) - Tabbat 2
Social Democratic Party (PSD Bassira) 2
Democratic Alliance for Niger (ADN Fusaha) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry. The outgoing National Assembly was elected in January 2011 but started to sit in April. In accordance with article 85 of the 2010 Constitution, the general elections were due between 20 and 60 days prior to the end of the current legislature (between January and March 2016).

Number of parties contesting the election: 43 lists

The "MNRD Hankuri - PSDN Alheri grouping" refers to two parties: the Niger Movement for Democratic Renewal grouping (MNRD Hankuri); and the Party for Socialism and Democracy in Niger-Alheri.


National Assembly (31.03.2016, 01.01.2017)

Arrêt Nº012/CC/ME du 16 mars 2016, Cour constitutionnelle

National Assembly (02.03.2016)

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
25 Mar 2016

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Ousseini Tinni (Male)
Date of birth: 1954
Political party
Niger Party for Democracy and Socialism (PNDS Tarayya)
Date of election
25 Mar 2016

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06