Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
25 Feb 2023
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
28 Feb 2027
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registered voters


About the election

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) retained the majority in the 109-member Senate and remained the largest force in the 360-member House of Representatives according to the preliminary results. The People's Democratic Party (PDP) remained the second largest force in both chambers. The Labour Party (LP), which held only one seat in the House of Representatives, became the third largest force in both chambers. Only 29% of 87 million eligible voters turned out in 2023, down from 36% in 2018.

In the presidential elections held in parallel with the parliamentary polls, Mr. Bola Ahmed Tinubu (APC), was elected in the first round. Mr. Atiku Abubakar (PDP) and Mr. Peter Obi (LP, formerly PDP) rejected the election results as fraudulent, an allegation that the independent electoral commission (INEC) denied. Observers from the European Union (EU) noted the late publication of the presidential election results: The Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) and the INEC Results Viewing Portal (IReV) reportedly did not work as expected.

Major electoral issues in 2023 included the economy, and measures to reduce insecurity and unemployment. The inflation rate remains high (over 20% in 2023) and 33% of the population is unemployed. The country has seen a series of kidnappings for ransom, some of which involved school children as well.

Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
All Progressives Congress (APC) 59
People's Democratic Party (PDP) 36
Labour Party (LP) 8
New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) 2
Social Democratic Party (SDP) 2
All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) 1
Young Progressives Party (YPP) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
13 Jun 2023

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Godswill Akpabio (Male)
Date of birth: 09 Dec 1962
Political party
All Progressives Congress (APC)
Date of election
13 Jun 2023

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06