Congress of the Republic

Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
11 Apr 2021
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
No information available
Expected date of next elections
12 Apr 2026
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

As in the previous elections, no parties secured a majority in the 130-member Congress in 2021. The Free Peru (PL), led by Mr. Pedro Castillo, came first with 37 seats. The Popular Force (FP), led by Ms. Keiko Fujimori and the Popular Action (AP), led by Mr. Yonhy Lescano, came second and third respectively. The number of women increased from 34 (26.15%) in 2020 to 52 (40%) in 2021. The newly elected Congress held its first session on 26 July and elected Ms. María del Carmen Alva Prieto (AP) as its new Speaker.

In the presidential elections held in parallel, no candidates secured the required majority to be elected in the first round of voting. In the run-off elections held on 6 June, Mr. Castillo (PL) narrowly defeated Ms. Fujimori (FP). Ms. Fujimori, who initially contested the results for alleged fraud, accepted the final results announced on 19 July. On 28 July, Mr. Castillo was sworn in as the new President (see note). The following day, he appointed Mr. Guido Bellido (PL) as the Prime Minister. On 27 August, the Congress approved Mr. Bellido’s Cabinet.

The 2021 elections were held amid the second wave of the COVID-19 pandemic which hit hard the country. Its economy contracted 12.9 per cent in 2020. During the election campaigning, the major parties focused on the post-COVID-19 economic recovery and reforms related to the key mining sector.


Prior to the presidential elections and swearing in of Mr. Castillo as President, Peru saw two interim Presidents following the impeachment of the then President Martín Vizcarra on 9 November 2020, which prompted street protests. After Speaker Manuel Merino (Popular Action) resigned as President on 15 November, Congress elected Mr. Francisco Sagasti of the Purple Party as the new President.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Not applicable

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Free Peru (PL) 37
Popular Force (FP) 24
Popular Action (AP) 16
Alliance for Progress (APP) 15
Go on Country - Social Integration Party (AvP) 10
Popular Renewal (RP) 9
We Are Peru" (SP) - Purple Party (PM) 9
Podemos Perú (PP) 5
Together for Peru (JP) 5
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Note on the timing of election:

The outgoing legislature elected in January 2020 served out the five-year term of the 2016 legislature which had been dissolved on 30 September 2019.

Note on the number of parties winning seats:

“Parties or coalitions winning seats” above refers to the composition of the new Congress which convened in July 2021 and which comprised nine parliamentary groups. "We Are Peru" (SP) and Purple Party (PM) fielded their candidates separately. There were thus ten parties which won parliamentary representation in 2021.

Note on the Alternation of power:

Presidential system. However, there was one President and two interim Presidents since the previous elections.


New legislature

First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
26 Jul 2021

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
María del Carmen Alva Prieto (Female)
Date of birth: 1967
Political party
Popular Action (AP)
Date of election
26 Jul 2021

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06