Political system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
06 Dec 2020
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
31 Dec 2024
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

The Social Democratic Party (PSD, see note), led by Speaker Ion-Marcel Ciolacu, remained the largest force in both the 330-member Chamber of Deputies and the 136-member Senate, but reduced its share of seats. The Party took 110 seats in the Chamber (down from 154) and 47 in the Senate (down from 67). Prime Minister Ludovic Orban’s National Liberal Party (PNL), which finished second, increased its share of seats in both houses, taking 93 seats in the Chamber of Deputies (up from 69) and 41 in the Senate (up from 30). Mr. Orban resigned as Prime Minister but remained as PNL leader. The 2020 elections held amid the COVID-19 pandemic saw a low turnout of 32 per cent, down from 39 per cent in 2016.

The newly elected parliament held its first session on 21 December. The Chamber of Deputies elected former Prime Minister Orban (PNL) as its new Speaker. The Senate elected Ms. Anca Dana Dragu (USR-PLUS Alliance) as its new President, who thereby became the first woman in Romania to assume the post.

On 21 December, the PNL agreed to form a coalition government with the USR-PLUS Alliance and the Democratic Union of Hungarians in Romania (UDMR) under the premiership of Mr. Florin Cîțu (PNL). The coalition government promised “profound reforms” to leave the “post-communist transition period” behind and “develop and modernize the State”.


After the December 2016 elections, Mr. Sorin Grindeanu (PSD) formed a coalition government comprising the PSD and the Liberal-Democrat Alliance (ALDE). He lost a vote of confidence in July 2017 and was succeeded by Mr. Mihai Tudose (PSD). In January 2018, Ms. Vasilica Viorica Dăncilă (PSD) succeeded him, thereby becoming the first woman to assume the premiership. After the collapse of her government in November 2019, Mr. Ludovic Orban (PNL) formed a minority government but it lost a vote of confidence in February 2020. Although the Constitutional Court ruled that the Constitution did not allow the President to nominate any former Prime Minister who had been ousted in a no-confidence vote, President Klaus Iohannis (independent, formerly PNL) re-appointed Mr. Orban as Prime Minister in March 2020 amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Note on the number of members in the Chamber of Deputies:

In 2020, 330 members, including 60 women, were elected. Since the mandate of one male member was not validated by the Validation Committee of the Chamber of Deputies, only 329 MPs were sworn into the Chamber.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Not applicable
Number of parties in government
Names of parties in government
National Liberal Party (PNL), USR-PLUS Alliance, Democratic Union of Hungarians in Romania (UDMR)

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Social Democratic Party (PSD) 47
National Liberal Party (PNL) 41
USR-PLUS Alliance 25
Alliance for the Unity of Romanians (AUR) 14
Democratic Union of Hungarians in Romania (UDMR) 9
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
21 Dec 2020

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Anca Dana Dragu (Female)
Date of birth: 1972
Political party
USR-PLUS Alliance
Date of election
21 Dec 2020

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06