Political system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
11 Sep 2015
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
25 Aug 2015
Timing of election
Early elections
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election
Total number of candidates
Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

The People's Action Party (PAP), led by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, has been in power since 1965. The Party won 83 of the 89 seats being contested (see note 1). It took 69.9 per cent of the vote, up from 60.1 per cent in 2011. The main opposition, the Workers' Party (WPS), took the remainder of the seats. Since six opposition members were elected in 2015, three non-constituency members were nominated to parliament (see note 2).

The 2015 elections were the first to be held after Mr. Lee Kuan Yew died in March of that year. He was the country's first and long-serving prime minister and the father of the incumbent Prime Minister. The Constitution provides that the elections should by January 2017: they were held shortly after the country's 50th anniversary of independence, on 31 August 2015. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on measures to tackle the rising cost of living and housing problems after an increase in the levels of immigration to the city State. The population has increased from 4.17 million in 2004 to 5.47 million in 2014.

Note 1:

The number of directly elected seats increased from 87 to 89, in accordance with the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee of 21 July 2015. It recommended 13 Single-Member Constituencies (SMCs) and 16 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) for the 2015 elections, up from the current 12 SMCs and 15 GRCs.

Note 2:

In accordance with Article 52 of the Parliamentary Elections Act, the number of non-constituency members is calculated by subtracting the total number of opposition members elected to Parliament from nine. The election commission initially declared that one woman and two men from the WPS had been elected as non-constituency members. However, Ms Lee Li Lian, an elected MP of the outgoing legislature, declined to take up her seat. She will remain a non-constituency member until the newly elected Parliament, due to be convened in January 2016, declares her seat vacant.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Number of parties in government
Names of parties in government
People's Action Party (PAP)

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total Directly elected Non-constituency
People's Action Party (PAP) 83 83 0
Workers' Party (WPS) 9 6 3
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected


In the 2015 elections 22 women were elected as follows:

- 21 of the 89 directly-elected members; and

- 1 non-constituency member*.

*The woman non-constituency member subsequently declined to take up her seat.

The newly elected Parliament declared her seat vacant on 29 January 2016.

She was replaced by a male member on 3 February 2016.

The number of women thus decreased to 21.

- On 24 March 2016, nine nominated members, including three women, were sworn in. As at 5 April, there were 24 women out of a total of 100 members.

Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Women in other categories
Other notes on the elections

Timing of election: Early elections. In accordance with Article 65 (4) of the Constitution, Parliament’s term last for five years from the date of its first sitting (held on 10 October 2011 for the outgoing legislature). Article 66 stipulates “There shall be a general election at such time, within three months after every dissolution of Parliament”. For the outgoing legislature, those three months fall between October 2016 and January 2017.


Parlement (29.09.2015, 03.02.2016, 23.02.2016, 05.04.2016, 13.05.2016, 08.08.2017)

Elections Department, Prime Minister's Office (30.10.2015)

Channel News Asia

The Guardian

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians

Notes: 19 first-term members were elected, 3 are non-constituency nominated members of parliament (NMPs)

Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
15 Jan 2016

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Halimah Yacob (Female)
Date of election
15 Jan 2016

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06