El Salvador

Legislative Assembly

Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
04 Feb 2024
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
28 Feb 2027
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election

Notes: Ten parties and one coalition.


About the election

President Nayib Bukele’s New Ideas party won 90% of the 60 seats in the Legislative Assembly (see note 1). The National Republican Alliance (ARENA) and the Farabundo Marti National Liberation Front (FMLN), which had alternately governed the country one after the other until 2021, came a distant second and third. In the presidential elections held in parallel with the parliamentary polls, Mr. Bukele was re-elected with over 80% of the votes (see note 2).

President Bukele, who was elected in 2021 promising to tackle rampant gang violence, imposed a state of emergency in March 2022 and cracked down on gangs. That has significantly reduced homicide rates in El Salvador, a country of 6.3 million inhabitants, which was one of the world's most dangerous places. Human rights organizations criticized the crackdown, stating that thousands of detainees are innocent, and have no connection to criminal organizations.

Note 1:

In accordance with Decree No. 755, adopted by the Legislative Assembly in June 2023, the statutory number of members has decreased from 84 to 60. The new statutory number was applied for the first time at the 2024 elections.

Note 2:

The Constitution prohibits consecutive terms for the presidency. In September 2021, the Supreme Court ruled that an incumbent president would be able to run again for the presidency if he/she left their post six months prior to the start of the new presidential term. In September 2022, President Bukele announced that he would seek a second term in 2024.

On 28 October 2023, President Bukele registered his candidacy for the 2024 presidential election. He proposed Ms. Claudia Juana Rodríguez de Guevara, his private secretary, as interim president. She became the first woman in El Salvador to assume the presidency. Her term lasts until 31 May 2024. On 30 November 2023, the Legislative Assembly granted President Bukele a leave of absence.

Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
New Ideas (N) 54
National Coalition Party (PCN) 2
National Republican Alliance (ARENA) 2
Christian Democratic Party (PDC) 1
Vamos 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
01 May 2024

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Ernesto Alfredo Castro Aldana (Male)
Date of birth: 26 May 1971
Political party
New Ideas (N)
Date of election
01 May 2024

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06