Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
18 Feb 2016
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
11 May 2016
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election
Total number of candidates

Notes: 1,343 candidates (including 88 women) for the 290 directly elected seats and 406 women candidates for the 112 seats reserved for women.

Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

President Yoweri Museveni's National Resistance Movement (NRM) retained a two-thirds majority in the enlarged 447-member Parliament (up from 375 (see note). The Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) led by Mr. Kizza Besigye came a distant second with 36 seats. The Democratic Alliance (TDA), led by former Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi, took 19 seats.

Mr. Museveni was re-elected President for a fifth term. Mr. Besigye (FDC), who came second, rejected the election results and called for a protest march. The Supreme Court rejected a petition by Mr. Mbabazi challenging President Museveni's victory, citing voter bribery and arrests.

During the election campaign, the major parties promised to provide better infrastructure, more jobs and affordable health care and to fight corruption. Observers from the European Union praised the peaceful voting but drew attention to a "lack of transparency and independence of the Electoral Commission" and "intimidation and harassment of opposition parties by security agencies".


The statutory number of directly elected members increased from 238 to 300, and that of women representatives from 112 to 122, due to an increase in the number of constituencies, approved by parliament in August 2015. However, the 2016 elections were held only for the 290 directly elected seats and 112 women representative seats, pending the creation of new districts. In addition, the President of the Republic may appoint as many ex officio members as he/she wishes, although the President has traditionally appointed 11 members to Parliament. The number of ex officio members (ministers who do not have voting rights), and thus the statutory number of members, may vary during the course of the legislature.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Number of parties in government
Names of parties in government
National Resistance Movement (NRM)

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total Constituency District Women Other Indirect Seats
National Resistance Movement (NRM) 298 200 88 10
Independents 66 44 17 5
Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) 36 29 7 0
Democratic Party 15 13 2 0
Uganda People's Defence Forces (UPDF) 10 0 0 10
Uganda People's Congress (UPC) 6 4 2 0
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected


At the first session of the 10th Parliament, held on 17 May 2016, there were 143 women out of of 427 members as follows.

- Constituency representatives: 22 out of 290 members (with 10 vacancies)

- District Women representatives: 112 out of 122 women (with 10 vacancies)

- Youth representatives: 2 out of 5 members

- Representatives of disabled persons: 2 out of 5 members

- Workers' representatives: 2 out of 5 members

- Representatives of the Uganda People's Defence Forces: 3 out of 10 members

Between 12 and 14 July 2016, 18 Ex-Officio members (ministers who do not have voting rights), including 9 women, were sworn in. On 20 September, four more District Women representatives from the National Resistance Movement (NRM) were sworn in, giving a total of 298 seats to NRM (up from 294 previously). Meanwhile, three male constituency members replaced three female members.

Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

In accordance with the Constitution (Amendment) Act 2017, the term of Parliament was extended from five to seven years. Parliamentary elections were therefore expected in 2023 instead of 2021.

However, in July 2018, the Constitutional Court nullified the extension of the term. Therefore, the next elections will be held in January 2021.


Parliament (19.05.2016, 15.12.2016, 16.12.2016, 01.01.2017, 15.02.2018)

Electoral Commission (05.07.2016)

European Union, Election observation mission



Parliament Watch, Center for Policy Analysis

The Observer

New Vision Uganda

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
17 May 2016

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Rebecca Kadaga (Female)
Political party
National Resistance Movement (NRM)
Date of election
19 May 2016

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06