South Africa

National Assembly

Political system
Parliamentary system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
29 May 2024
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
31 May 2029
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

President Cyril Ramaphosa’s African National Congress (ANC) lost its majority for the first time since the end of apartheid in 1994. It won 159 seats in the 400-member National Assembly, down from 230 in 2019. The Democratic Alliance (DA, the main opposition party led by Mr. John Steenhuisen) remained the second largest party, winning 87 seats. Two other opposition parties followed: uMkhonto weSizwe (MK, a new party led by former President Jacob Zuma, formerly of the ANC), and the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF, led by Mr. Julius Malema), which won 58 and 39 seats respectively. In 2024, 174 women were elected, down from 179 in 2019.

On 6 June, President Ramaphosa announced that he would form a government of national unity. On 12 June, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP, led by Mr. Velenkosini Hlabisa, which won 17 seats) announced it would join the ANC-led government. Shortly before the newly elected National Assembly convened on 14 June, the DA also announced that it would join the ANC-led government. On 14 June, the National Assembly re-elected Mr. Ramaphosa (ANC) for a second and final term as the President of the Republic, with the support of the ANC, DA, IFP and smaller parties.

During election campaigning, the major parties focused on job creation, the economy and education, as well as measures to counter crime and corruption.

Alternation of power after elections
Number of parties in government
Names of parties in government
African National Congress (ANC), Democratic Alliance (DA), Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Patriotic Alliance (PA), GOOD, Freedom Front Plus (FF+), United Democratic Movement (UDM), Rise Mzansi, Al Jama-ah, and Pan-Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC)
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
14 Jun 2024

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Angela Thokozile Didiza (Female)
Date of birth: 02 Jun 1965
Political party
African National Congress (ANC)
Date of election
14 Jun 2024

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06