Zimbabwe

Assemblée nationale

Système politique
Présidentiel-parlementaire
Structure du parlement
Bicaméral
Membre de l’UIP
Oui

À propos du parlement

Des informations de base telles que le nom officiel du parlement et les détails de sa structure et de sa direction. Comprend également la répartition actuelle des parlementaires par sexe et âge, ainsi que les dispositions relatives aux quotas et aux sièges réservés.

Nom du parlement
Parliament (Parlement)
Nom de la chambre
National Assembly (Assemblée nationale)
Structure et statut du parlement
Chambre basse
Durée de la législature (années)
5

Membre de l'UIP

Périodes d'affiliation
de 1981
Groupe(s) géopolitique(s) de l’UIP
Groupe africain

Président de parlement

Président

Titre officiel
Président de l'Assemblée nationale
Président
J.F.N. Mudenda (Homme)
Date of birth: 31 mai 1946
Durée
03 sept. 2013
Informations complémentaires

Elu le 3 sep. 2013, réélu le 11 septembre 2018 et 8 septembre 2023.

Durées de mandat du Président

Pas d'information disponible

Secrétaire général

Titre officiel
Greffier du Parlement
Secrétaire général
Kennedy Mugove Chokuda (Homme)
Durée
20 mai 2015
Notes

Nommé le 20 mai 2015.

Membres

Nombre statutaire de membres
280

Notes: Le nombre statutaire de membres de l’Assemblée nationale cité dans la Constitution de 2013 est de 210, à savoir un élu pour chacune des 210 circonscriptions. En vertu de l’article 124 (1) (b) et (c) de la Constitution, 60 sièges supplémentaires seront réservés aux femmes lors des quatre élections législatives suivant l’adoption des amendements constitutionnels, intervenue en 2021 (à savoir celles de 2023, 2028, 2033 et 2038) et 10 sièges supplémentaires seront réservés aux candidats âgés de 21 à 35 ans.

Principal mode de désignation des membres
Scrutin direct
Membres élus au scrutin direct
280
Nombre actuel de membres
267
Hommes
192
Femmes
75
Pourcentage de femmes
28,1%
Nombre statutaire de membres par pays
360
Population (en milliers)
15 994
Nombre d'habitants par parlementaire
45 697

Age

Les données sur l'âge des parlementaires sont recueillies en début de législature, au lendemain des élections les plus récentes. Ces données ne sont pas mises à jour pendant la législature, sauf lorsque le parlement informe l'UIP d'un changement concernant le membre le plus jeune ou le plus âgé.

Age moyen des membres
Pas d'information disponible
Nombre de membres, par âge
Ventilation des membres par âge et sexe
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 31 - 40 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 61 - 70 61 - 70 91 et plus Total par sexe
Homme Pas d'information disponible
Femme
Total <= 45: - Total >= 46: -
Pourcentage de membres, selon l'âge
Age à la date de la dernière élection ou du dernier renouvellement. Total Homme Femme
Pourcentage de parlementaires âgés de 30 ans ou moins
- - -
Pourcentage de parlementaires âgés de 40 ans ou moins
- - -
Pourcentage de parlementaires âgés de 45 ans ou moins
- - -

Sièges réservés et quotas

Des sièges sont réservés au parlement pour certains groupes
Oui
Femmes
60
Les jeunes
10
Quota électoral de femmes
Oui

Notes: Soixante des 280 sièges de l’Assemblée nationale sont réservés à des femmes, élues au scrutin proportionnel de liste lors des quatre élections législatives suivant l’adoption des amendements constitutionnels, intervenue en 2021 (à savoir celles de 2023, 2028, 2033 et 2038). Chaque liste de candidats doit comporter au moins a) dix femmes de moins de 35 ans, b) des femmes handicapées et c) des jeunes femmes handicapées.

Sources: Article 124 (1) (b) de la Loi (n° 2) amendant la Constitution du Zimbabwe, 2021. Cette loi a été adoptée par l’Assemblée nationale le 20 avril 2021 et par le Sénat le 4 mai 2021. Après sa promulgation par le Président de la République, elle est entrée en vigueur le 7 mai 2021. L’article 45C (4) (a) de la loi amendant la législation électorale, adoptée en 2023, est entré en vigueur le 19 juillet 2023.

Quota électoral de jeunes
Oui

Notes: Dix des 280 sièges de l’Assemblée nationale sont réservés aux jeunes âgés de 21 à 35 ans, élus au scrutin proportionnel de liste. Les candidats hommes et femmes doivent alterner sur chaque liste de candidats.

Sources: Article 124 (1) (c) de la Loi (n° 2) amendant la Constitution du Zimbabwe, 2021. Cette loi a été adoptée par l’Assemblée nationale le 20 avril 2021 et par le Sénat le 4 mai 2021. Après sa promulgation par le Président de la République, elle est entrée en vigueur le 7 mai 2021. L’article 45C (4) (b) de la loi amendant la législation électorale, adoptée en 2023, est entré en vigueur le 19 juillet 2023.

Liens vers des informations complémentaires

Site web du parlement
Liste des membres
Règles de procédure/Règlement intérieur
Pas d'information disponible
Constitution

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
2020-09
List of values for 2020-09
No
2019-04
List of values for 2019-04
No
2018-06
List of values for 2018-06
No

Zimbabwe

National Assembly

Political system
Presidential-Parliamentary
Structure of parliament
Bicameral
IPU membership
Yes

About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.

Parliament name
Parliament
Chamber name
National Assembly
Structure & status of parliament
Lower chamber
Parliamentary term (years)
5

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1981
IPU Geopolitical Group/s
African Group

Speaker

Official title
Speaker of the National Assembly
Speaker
J.F.N. Mudenda (Male)
Date of birth: 31 May 1946
Term
03 Sep 2013
Additional information

Elected on 3 Sep. 2013, re-elected on 11 Sep. 2018 and 8 Sep. 2023.

Speaker terms

No information available

Secretary general

Official title
Clerk of Parliament
Secretary General
Kennedy Mugove Chokuda (Male)
Term
20 May 2015
Notes

Appointed on 20 May 2015.

Members

Statutory number of members
280

Notes: The statutory number of members of the National Assembly stipulated in the 2013 Constitution is 210; one member elected from each of the 210 constituencies. In accordance with Article 124 (1) (b) and (c) of the Constitution, 60 additional seats will be reserved for women for the first four Parliaments to be elected after the 2021 constitutional amendments (i.e., elections in 2023, 2028, 2033 and 2038); and 10 additional seats will be reserved for candidates aged between 21 and 35.

Principal mode of designation of members
Directly elected
Directly elected members
280
Current number of members
267
Men
192
Women
75
Percentage of women
28.1%
Statutory number of members per country 
360
Population (in thousands)
15,994
Inhabitants per parliamentarian
45,697

Age

Data on the age of parliamentarians is collected at the start of the legislature, following the most recent elections. This data is not updated during the legislature, except when parliament notifies the IPU of a change in the youngest or oldest member.

Average age of all members
No information available
Number of members, by age
Breakdown of members by age and gender
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 41 - 45 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 71 - 80 81 - 90 91 and over Totals per gender
Male No information available
Female
Total <= 45: - Total >= 46: -
Percentage of members, by age
Age at the last election or renewal Overall Male Female
Percentage of MPs 30 years of age or younger
- - -
Percentage of MPs 40 years of age or younger
- - -
Percentage of MPs 45 years of age or younger
- - -

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups
Yes
Women
60
Youth
10
Electoral quota for women
Yes

Notes: 60 seats in the 280-member National Assembly are allocated to women candidates, who are to be elected under List Proportional Representation (List PR) for the four Parliaments following the enactment of the 2021 constitutional amendments (i.e., elections in 2023, 2028, 2033 and 2038). Each list of candidates must include at least (a) ten women under the age of 35 and (b) women with disabilities and (c) young women with disabilities.

Sources: Article 124 (1) (b) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe Amendment (No. 2) Act, 2021. The law was adopted by the National Assembly on 20 April 2021, and by the Senate on 4 May 2021. It was enacted by the President of the Republic, and entered into force on 7 May 2021. Article 45C (4) (a) of the Electoral Amendment Act, 2023 entered into force on 19 July 2023.

Youth quota
Yes

Notes: Ten seats in the 280-member National Assembly are reserved for young candidates, aged between 21 and 35, who are elected under List Proportional Representation (List PR). Each list of candidates must alternate female and male candidates.

Sources: Article 124 (1) (c) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe Amendment (No. 2) Act, 2021. The law was adopted by the National Assembly on 20 April 2021, and by the Senate on 4 May 2021. It was enacted by the President of the Republic, and entered into force on 7 May 2021. Article 45C (4) (b) of the Electoral Amendment Act, 2023 entered into force on 19 July 2023.

Links to additional information

Parliamentary website
List of members
Rules of procedure/Standing Orders
No information available
Constitution

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
2020-09
List of values for 2020-09
No
2019-04
List of values for 2019-04
No
2018-06
List of values for 2018-06
No