National Assembly

Political system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
23 Aug 2023
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
31 Aug 2028
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


About the election

President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s ZANU-PF party (in power since independence in 1980) won the majority in both chambers of parliament. It took 175 seats in the 280-member National Assembly (see note 1) and 33 of the 60 seats at stake in the 80-member Senate. The Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC), the main opposition party, led by Mr. Nelson Chamisa, came second, winning 104 and 27 seats respectively.

In the presidential election, held in parallel with the parliamentary elections, the incumbent, President Mnangagwa (ZANU-PF), was declared elected. His main challenger, Mr. Chamisa (CCC), rejected the results, claiming irregularities, rigging of the elections and voter intimidation (see note 2).

The 2023 elections were the first to be held under the rule of President Mnangagwa, who was first elected in 2018. The key electoral issues included economic challenges, corruption and access to social services.

On 25 August 2023, the EU Election Observation Mission stated that “the election process fell short of many regional and international standards, including equality, universality, and transparency”. The UN Secretary-General expressed concerns over the arrest of observers, reports of voter intimidation and threats of violence.

Note 1:

The number of members in the National Assembly increased from 270 to 280 due to 10 additional seats reserved for candidates aged between 21 and 35. The youth quota was created by Act N.2, 2021, which amended the Constitution. The youth quota, as well as 60 seats reserved for women (which had been created under the 2013 constitutional amendments and applied to the 2013 and 2018 elections), will apply to the four Parliaments to be elected after the 2021 constitutional amendments (i.e., elections in 2023, 2028, 2033 and 2038).

Note 2:

Voting was extended into an unprecedented second day due to delays in printing ballot papers in several districts, including the capital, Harare, an opposition stronghold. Police arrested 41 election monitors, accusing them of attempting to announce results before the election commission.

Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total Majority Women seats Youth seats
ZANU-PF 175 135 33 7
Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) 104 74 27 3
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
08 Sep 2023

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
J.F.N. Mudenda (Male)
Date of birth: 31 May 1946
Political party
Date of election
08 Sep 2023

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06